Laotian Kingdoms





In 1353, after Laos had first been ruled by Khmers from Angkor, then by Thais from Sukhothai,Prince Fa Ngoum founds the Kingdom of Laos or "Lane Xang", as it was called at the time, as a sovereign state. It extends over present-day Laos as well parts of what is now North Thailand. The first capital of Laos is Luang Prabang. King Fa Ngoum makes Buddhism the national religion.

In the 15th century the Vietnamese temporarily occupy the Laotian Kingdom and Luang Prabang.

In the 16th century Vieng Chan (Vientiane) develops into a parallel capital of the Laotian Kingdom. Burma, the dominant power in Southeast Asia in the 16th century, gains strong influence over Vieng Chan. Nevertheless, in 1563 King Setthathirat makes Vieng Chan the official capital of Laos.

In 1575, the Burmese occupy Vieng Chan and stay for seven years.

After two parallel Laotian kingdoms had developed in Luang Prabang and Vieng Chan, they were reunited in 1591 under King Nokeo Koumane.

In 1700Laos breaks up into three kingdoms: Luang Prabang, Vieng Chan and Champassak to the South.

After the Siamese capital Ayutthaya had been conquered and sacked by Burmese armies, Laos, in 1767, again falls under full Burmese rule. But after only a few years the Siamese kingdom, with its new capital Bangkok, grows stronger and Laos again has to obey Siamese overlords.

In 1827 the Laotians under King Anou rebel against the Siamese but are soon defeated. The Laotian state disintegrates.